Canon or Nikon Digital SLR?

Following on from my post, For The Love of Photography, I’ve been having a look-see at what’s available in the Digital SLR market, and asking opinions from those “in the know”.

I’ve so far narrowed my potential choices down to two brands, Canon and Nikon. I’ve had the privilege of working with both brands in a professional environment, but that was some years back, so I’m trying to look at things from a fresh perspective – especially because at the time, I became negatively biased towards Nikon due to some really poor service inflicted upon me by the service/repair centre in Kyalami, Jozi (nowhere to get it done in Durban except some rip-off artist in Musgrave). I’m hoping this has since changed…?

I’m not looking for anything too fancy, just a good entry level SLR to get me back into the swing of things.

So, what’s your first choice? Feel free to add any comments as to why that is your choice, and thank you for voting!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Beef and Bubbles on January 24, 2012 - 3:18 pm

    Last year I bought my first DSLR, I got the Nikon D3100. While this choice was based on recommendations but also related to a sale on this specific camera, I have never regretted it and I have officially swung from being pro-Canon to super pro-Nikon. There is also a really nice Nikon community in SA, they have a very active Twitter feed and Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

