Let’s Get This Party Started!

So this is my first post after registering the blog about 8 months ago. Do I get an award for procrastination or anything? Nothing? Oh, well, best I get cracking then. And thanks goes to my mate @gordsreid for the chat yesterday, which finally got me thinking that I should actually give this a bash.

Where to begin…? Well, it’s a new year and all that. 2011 was quite an extraordinary year for me. Extraordinarily shitty for the most part. It was probably the shortest time span in which I came across the most make-or-break situations and decisions. It’s a good thing Mr Mundell forced me to participate in athletics in high school… That hurdles training proved itself invaluable!

I learnt a lot about people I thought I knew well, both good and bad. I think at one time or another we all find ourselves in situations where we quickly discover who our true friends really are.

I forged stronger friendships with amazing people, reconnected with great people from my past, connected with awesome new friends, and banished the energy vampires (well, actually, they vanished when the going got tough… funny that).

I think it was @BwanaChris who tweeted something along the lines of, “When you’re down, try bringing someone else up”, which struck a chord with me when I read it. I do try to do that no matter what my situation, and in 2011 I was lucky enough to be involved with a truly selfless bunch of people, firstly on the Twitter Blanket Drive in June, and then the Izulu Orphan Projects Christmas Party for 3,000 orphans and carers in December. The plight of our children is very close to my heart, and my own daughter (who I refer to as The Teen) is adopted.

Those last two paragraphs, especially the friendships forged, maintained and strengthened, is what got me through an exceptionally challenging year. And look, I made it out the other side alive! And still laughing 🙂

With that out of the way, let’s get down to this blog. I can’t tell you what the main theme is going to be, because it’s Top Secret. So Top Secret that I don’t even know yet! I have a few ideas, which I’m sure will refine themselves along the way. The main thing, though, is that I’m just going to get on and do it. And if the way my life rolls is anything to go by, my ramblings should at least be mildly entertaining.

Let’s have some fun in 2012, shall we?! In parting, I leave you with this…

Life Manifesto

  1. #1 by @BwanaChris on January 8, 2012 - 4:16 pm

    The easiest way up when you fall down is to help someone else up, that has fallen harder than you have

  2. #2 by bwanachris on February 5, 2017 - 7:45 pm

    Made a significant change for a good person that did great things for others.
    That’s what life is really all about

Leave a Reply

